The pleasures of pasta

Fresh basil. Can you smell it? It was freshly plucked from my humble little herb garden and showcased at supper this evening. It was one of those days when the supper menu was the very last thing on my mind. I stood staring at the contents of my pantry for 10 minutes before inspiration struck. No recipe, not even a name for this dish, but it was delish!

Dressed to impress in our vintage aprons, my daughters and I boiled a box of fettucini pasta. We opened a jar of our favorite tomato sauce, added some grilled chicken, a can of blackeyed peas, a chiffonade of basil, and some salt and pepper. When the pasta was ready, we tossed it in the sauce, garnished with a sprig of fresh basil and topped it with freshly grated parmesan. It turned out well for a thrown together, last-minute supper!

And I have to thank Susan over at NotQuiteJuneCleaver for sharing a glimpse of her new dishes with her faithful followers. I was so inspired I purchased my own set of Everyday Dinnerware from Williams-Sonoma (and yes, they’re still on sale, hurry!). They are lovely. Heavy-duty restaurant-style dishes that are microwave, dishwasher and broiler safe.

When my dear husband arrived home from work to a kitchen littered with packing peanuts, cardboard boxes and stacks of dishes, I simply greeted him with a kiss and, “Thank you sooo much for the anniversary present! I absolutely adore the new dishes.”

It’s a good thing he loves me so much! The fact that he is the most patient man on earth is also prudent.

Leave a comment

Filed under Homekeeping, Recipes

Leave a Reply

