I’m a simple woman …

simple-woman-daybook-large… and no, I did not say simple-minded woman. So here’s a page from the Simple Woman’s Daybook:

November 25, 2008
Outside my window …
Hills, trees and outbuildings covered in a layer of thick, white snowflakes. They say 4-8 inches by noon tomorrow.
I am thinking …
That I need to: put my son down for a nap; switch loads of laundry; check the salt dough ornaments in the oven (my daughter made them); that I need to check work e-mail and edit the corporate chef’s December Web post; and that I hope the heavy snow holds off until my husband is home from work.
I am thankful for …
my children’s vivid imaginations; the snowfall; the thick, fuzzy socks on my chilly toes; and the word Mommy.
From the learning rooms …
I hear children’s voices ranging from laughter to argument as they construct a fort from their bed quilts.
From the kitchen …
The smell of a Cabin Fever scented candle.
I am wearing …
A pair of glasses, broken by my son and repaired with blue painters’ tape. My eye doctor made me swear off contacts for the week, thanks to an infected scratch on my eye.
I am creating …
A backache because someone is using my desk chair so I’m sitting in a rocker.
I am going …
Upstairs in a moment to clean up the fort, direct girls to their afternoon reading and put terrible two-fer-all to bed.
I am reading …
Santa Wore Spurs (Don’t mock me! A little cowboy romance now and then never hurt anybody.)
I am hoping …
That my son is not in the fish tank again.
I am hearing …
My daughters yelling, “Mommy! Ben is in the fish tank!” and a snow plow over on the hill.
Around the house …
It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.
One of my favorite things …
McLeod’s Daughters—an Australian TV series that aired on the WE channel here in the states for two seasons. Another one of my other favorite things, ebay! I purchased all eight seasons AND I found a Web site listing secret codes that converted my DVD player to zone-free. Ahh, winter evenings spent in front of the fire with a glass of wine and a fuzzy blanket, watching strong, independent women run a sheep and cattle ranch in the Outback. Now THAT is a good time! 
A few plans for the rest of the week …
Tuesday: last minute Thanksgiving ingredient shopping. Wednesday: girls to piano; Thursday: eat … when turkey fatigue causes crankiness, anger younger sisters by comparing the size of their pregnant bellies! Friday: open Farmgirl Finds for Christmas shoppers and prepare for Saturday’s open house. Sunday: bake peanut butter chocolate chip cookies for husband’s hunting trip because I’m a good and dutiful wife.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

